A Day in the Life

Yesterday, our household went on an adventure because, in a rare coincidence, both Nikki and Pam had the day off. We chose to adventure down to Canton, MI and visit the IKEA store there. If you’ve never been, I highly recommend it! It’s huge and it’s fun to wander through the displays and day dream about your future home’s living spaces.

It was a great time and by the time we got home, we were tired, but very happy. We got an unexpected surprise when Pam’s parents came over to give us a new cart to help us organize our kitchen better (the theme of the day was furniture, I guess). We settled in and watched a couple of movies to top of the day and it was pretty great.

Adventures still mean a lot of spoons were used, though. So today, when I woke up, that meant that I was more tired than usual. My joints hurt more than usual, my symptoms were a little harder to settle down so that I could get out of bed, and I slept a little later than I’d intended.

Tonight, my parents are playing in their band and a good friend from my church is playing at a local bar after that, so today can’t necessarily be a “rest day” for me. While I’m excited for the plans laid out for tonight, it’s hard to not feel a little overwhelmed by the process of getting my body into a good place. It takes careful planning of meals, medicating at the right time with the right medication to ensure the best mood and physical state, and figuring out what I will need immediately or to have accessible to me while we’re out later. Should I use my cane or, if not, should I bring it with me just in case I need it? What pain medications should I have accessible to me? Do I have a plan for getting home safely if I need to leave before other people are ready to leave or are unable to get me home? How much do I need to prepare mentally for these events?

I don’t think healthy, able-bodied people realize sometimes how much work goes into living with an illness. So in the near future, I’m going to be posting a series on how best to support your spoonie but for today, I end with a question: what does a day in your life look like? Does it look like mine or is it a little easier? A little harder? Let’s have a conversation, guys!

3 thoughts on “A Day in the Life

  1. If it is a day I have class, I get up between 7:30 and 8:00 and try to get my unorganized self out the door by 8:15 or so to drive out to MSU. Then class until 12:00 or 2:00, depends on the day. On days I don’t have class, I’m either at my first grade placement, or subbing for Holt. Finally, I get to sprinkle in some alone time either with close friends, family, my loving boyfriend, or with myself. Always with coffee, and my vitamin D to help with my mood and energy problems.

    I’m very fortunate with the life I get to lead. And I love getting to wind down at the end of my day by reading your blog.

    Like

  2. Watching your parents play in their rock band will be worth the effort it takes I hope, and bring a smile to your face!

    Like

Leave a Reply

