April Fool’s Day

So everyone is aware that I decided that, in order to give myself the best possible chance of success in completing my book on support, I would sign up for National Novel Writing Month’s off-season event, Camp NaNoWriMo. The goal is the same, though I’ve altered it a bit: write a novel of 50k or more in thirty days. My goal is not limited to word count, but rather the goal of finishing the book and beginning the editing process.

This came with its own set of dilemmas for me to puzzle out. One of the most pressing was that, with all of my attention needed on the book writing process, how was I also going to manage daily blogging. The solution to that particular question occurred to me late Thursday evening, March 23rd. Create and outline enough content to either schedule a completed blog post to be published without my needing to do it personally, or to have enough drafts with content outlined for be to be able to simple flesh out the outline into its final product and publish it myself. This would cut down on time I spent on the blog, free up more time and brain power to the book itself, but not compromise the blog itself.

So you’re reading this post on Saturday, April 1st. Fitting, because I did not write it on April Fool’s Day. April Fools! I actually wrote it at 9:06pm on the 25th of March. It and about thirty other posts, will either be completely written or partially written and saved for later between tonight and tomorrow.

I’m doing this for my sanity’s sake. I have no idea how many other things I will have on my plate alongside writing the book, but if things go the way I’m hoping they will, I will have too much work that needs my attention and taking the time to do all of this work now will be a blessing that my future self will thank me for.

So what does that mean for you, the reader? What can you expect out of this month of pre-thought posts? Well for one, you won’t get very many “current event” details. These posts, by their very nature, will need to be static, dependable things instead of a day to day glimpse into the Ampersand household. They will be more open ended, aiming to convey a topic for thought as opposed to reactions of mine to things happening around me.

I hope that the shift in style doesn’t deter you from keeping up with the blog. I fully intend to continue writing with the blog once the book is completed and in the editing process. In fact, I will likely take many breaks from writing to write about how the writing process is going.

In short, I’m not here, but I probably will be at some point or another. Prizes to the people who can figure out which posts I wrote when I posted them and which ones I wrote over this chilly weekend in March? Perhaps!

Leave a Reply

