A Glaring Problem

Camp NaNoWriMo started four days ago. As promised, I began work on the support book, but almost instantly realized there might be an issue when I went to break down each section to put it on an index card (a common way I prompt myself to write each day without feeling overwhelmed; pick a card and write about what’s on it, no thought necessary.) The entire book consists of only ten index card prompts, four of which I’ve already completed.

The typical length of a novel that publishers will actually consider is between 50-70,000 words. Anything less is normally considered too much of a risk because of its short length and you’ll get the “put it online as a free ebook” suggestion. This isn’t something I’m opposed to, mind you, but when a part of your goal is to write to make up for the fact that you have no income, it becomes slightly problematic that you’re focusing your time and attention on something that is shaping up quickly to be nothing like what you thought it would be.

Oddly, though, I’m okay with the idea of the support book being a free ebook. Readily available to pretty much anyone who could want it. If it really takes off and gains popularity, then other things could be written or it could become something that allows the blog to be a source of income.

The idea alone of something not quite turning out the way I hoped would have immediately deterred me from even attempting it further as recently as a year ago. It’s interesting to me to see the change and growth that I’ve undergone to make me a stronger, more resilient individual. Things that are hard no longer scare me away from my goals. If anything, I’ve had to take a step back a few times to remind myself that pushing my limits all the time is a good way to get sick and tired far too fast. Being impatient never made things better or hurried things along. It just makes you and everyone around you miserable (lookin’ at you, rude people in lines at public places. Y’all are terrible.)

The blog will obviously get an update when I hit the goal and finish all the prompts. With the way things are going, it will only be day ten or eleven before that happens.

 

Leave a Reply

