The Return of the Lemon Writer

Hi everybody. I missed you very much. Things have finally settled enough (sort of) for me to be able to pick blogging back up on a much more regular basis! I can’t make promises for daily posts, since I’m going to be significantly more busy than I was when I created the blog a few months ago.

As of confirmation yesterday, I will in fact be a full time student with Cornerstone University’s Accelerated Psychology degree program beginning June 5th! My enrollment counselor texted to give me the happy news and told me that my first class will be a Personal Wellness course, which I’m thankful for. It will be nice to get a feel for the pacing and demands of the program with a class that will also ensure I’m giving myself my best chance. You all know how I preach and prattle about giving you your best chance! There are still a few financial aid hoops to jump through, but with any luck, I’ll be able to clear them quickly enough and stay enrolled. Keep your fingers crossed on that one!

As of the beginning of this month, I am an official freelance writer! I have submitted several pieces to several different publications and contests, so keep checking into the blog for those updates. I’ll let you know when I know of each one’s success and, once published, I’ll be sure to share the links to said pieces. I’m excited to finally be able to call myself a true freelance writer.

I’d mentioned before that we were joining a Dungeons and Dragons group to see how we all liked it. We didn’t just like it, we loved it! Our second night of getting together for it is coming up very quickly and we’re all pretty stoked to continue our adventures and shenanigans.

And now, we come to Cleveland Clinic. I know I’ve been oddly quiet on the subject and that’s because, frankly, there isn’t a whole lot to share. I don’t have results or any new information of importance and, in light of everything going on right now in our government, I know that when I talk about my healthcare experience with Cleveland Clinic, it will be incredibly hard to avoid talking politics. When I started the blog, I told myself that I wanted to avoid politics. Unfortunately, to avoid politics that so directly impact myself and the people I am writing for here on Lemons and Spoons would suggest that I don’t care. In this instance, neutrality feels like apathy and I can’t, in good conscience as a writer and as a person, stay silent on such an issue. I hope that my political musings won’t discourage readers from connecting with the blog. This is still a blog for everyone, no matter what way you happen to vote. Illnesses don’t just target one political party or idealization, after all.

With that, the sun is shining, birds are singing, and I have work to get done! Peace and love to all of you.

Leave a Reply

